Category: Science

Completion of the VICCI project – Part 2

The ESF-funded junior research group VICCI dealt from 2012 until the end of 2014 with the development, control and integration of cyber physical systems (CPS) at the Faculty of Computer Science of the Dresden University of Technology. The scope includes

Tagged with:

Completion of the VICCI project – Part 1

The ESF-funded junior research group VICCI dealt from 2012 until the end of 2014 with the development, control and integration of cyber physical systems (CPS) at the Faculty of Computer Science of the Dresden University of Technology. The scope includes

Tagged with: , , ,

Upcoming: SIGGRAPH ASIA 2014

Next week the SIGGRAPH ASIA 2014 finally takes place in Shenzhen, China. I am prepared and looking forward to a great conference and to the opportunity to present my work: Technical Papers – Special Session: Visualization, Thursday, 4th December; 11:00

Tagged with:

MegaMol Development

I like working with Software. I have fun handling large data sets and producing interactive 3D visualizations which are useful, nice and cool. On the way to create them I, of course, need a huge lot of functions, libraries and

Tagged with:

Researcher Profil

My work nicely accelerates and my projects evolve as expected. Ok, maybe they evolve a bit slower than I would like it, but I can be satisfied. As part of the whole development I finally updated my research profile here

Conference Submission

Last week was full of work. Somehow, I write something like this every week. Well… Together with two colleagues I worked on a submission for a conference last week. A nice paper about a visualization technology. Of course, I cannot

Tagged with:

MegaMol – A Prototyping Framework for Particle-based Visualization

Today, I am only writing a short note on MegaMol. We have done it! We published the MegaMol system as systems paper: S. Grottel, M. Krone, C. Müller, G. Reina, and T. Ertl, “MegaMol — A Prototyping Framework for Particle-based

Tagged with: ,

CECAM-Workshop: Particle-based Simulations for Hard and Soft Matter

During my vacation several things happened. For one thing, I was asked to fill in for a reviewer who did not deliver. And I was invited to a workshop to talk about my work, especially MegaMol™. It is nice to

Tagged with:

Visual Analysis of Trajectories in Multi-Dimensional State Spaces

Today I want to talk about one of my newest published research papers, about visualization of multi-dimensional trajectories. It is electronically available here at the Wiley Online Library (http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/cgf.12352/abstract): Visual Analysis of Trajectories in Multi-Dimensional State Spaces [1]. First off,

Tagged with:

Simpler is simply simpler and better

Data set file formats are a real running gag in the context of scientific visualization. Often the file formats are rather useless and there often are no established standards. Most of the time ASCII-text files greet you as the results

Tagged with:
Top

Kategorie: Forschung

Abschluss des VICCI-Projekts – Teil 2

Die ESF-geförderte Nachwuchsforschergruppe VICCI beschäftigte sich von 2012 bis Ende 2014 an der Fakultät Informatik der Technischen Universität Dresden mit der Entwicklung, Steuerung und Integration von cyber-physikalischen Systemen (CPS). Der Anwendungsbereich umfasst Smart Home-Umgebungen und die Unterstützung von Menschen im

Getagged mit:

Abschluss des VICCI-Projekts – Teil 1

Die ESF-geförderte Nachwuchsforschergruppe VICCI beschäftigte sich von 2012 bis Ende 2014 an der Fakultät Informatik der Technischen Universität Dresden mit der Entwicklung, Steuerung und Integration von cyber-physikalischen Systemen (CPS). Der Anwendungsbereich umfasst Smart Home-Umgebungen und die Unterstützung von Menschen im

Getagged mit: , , ,

Demnächst: SIGGRAPH ASIA 2014

Nächste Woche ist es soweit die SIGGRAPH ASIA 2014 findet in Shenzhen, China, statt. Ich bin vorbereitet und freue mich auf eine tolle Konferenz und auf die Gelegenheit meine Arbeit vorstellen zu dürfen: Technical Papers – Special Session: Visualization, Donnerstag

Getagged mit:

MegaMol-Entwicklung

Ich arbeite gerne mit Software. Es macht mir Spaß mit großen Daten zu hantieren und interaktive 3D-Visualisierungen zu schaffen die nützlich, schön und cool sind. Auf dem Weg brauch ich natürlich die Hilfe einer riesigen Vielzahl von Funktionen, Libraries und

Getagged mit:

Forscherprofil

Meine Arbeit nimmt schön Fahrt auf und meine Projekte entwickeln sich wie erwartet. Ok, vielleicht etwas langsamer als ich es gerne hätte, aber ich kann zufrieden sein. Als Teil der ganzen Entwicklung habe ich nun auch mein Forscherprofil hier auf

Einreichung zu einer Konferenz

Die letzte Woche war wieder sehr arbeitsreich. Ist irgendwie auch nichts neues mehr. Naja. Zusammen mit zwei Kollegen habe ich eine Einreichung zu einer Konferenz erarbeitet. Ein schönes Paper über eine Visualisierungstechnologie. Natürlich kann ich mehr noch nicht sagen solange

Getagged mit:

MegaMol – A Prototyping Framework for Particle-based Visualization

Heute gibt es auch nur eine kurze Notiz zum Thema MegaMol. Es ist vollbracht! Das System Paper zu MegaMol selbst ist veröffentlicht: S. Grottel, M. Krone, C. Müller, G. Reina, and T. Ertl, „MegaMol — A Prototyping Framework for Particle-based

Getagged mit: ,

CECAM-Workshop: Particle-based Simulations for Hard and Soft Matter

Während meinem Urlaub ergab sich mal wieder einiges. Einerseits durfte ich natürlich arbeiten und für einen ausgefallenen Reviewer einspringen. Andererseits wurde ich nun aber auch auf einen Workshop eingeladen um dort meine Arbeit vorzustellen, im Besondern natürlich MegaMol™. Schön wenn

Getagged mit:

Visual Analysis of Trajectories in Multi-Dimensional State Spaces

Heute möchte ich über eine meiner neusten wissenschaftlichen Publikationen sprechen: Visualisierung multi-dimensionaler Trajektorien. Die Publikation ist in der Wiley Online Library elektronisch verfügbar (http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/cgf.12352/abstract): Visual Analysis of Trajectories in Multi-Dimensional State Spaces [1]. Zunächst einmal, was ist eine multi-dimensionale Trajektorie?

Getagged mit:

Einfacher ist einfach einfacher und besser

Ein echter Dauerbrenner im Kontext der wissenschaftlichen Visualisierung ist das Problem mit Dateiformaten. Im Normalfall taugen die Formate nix oder es gibt keine etablierten Standards. Häufig grinsen einen Simulationsergebnisse als ASCII-Text-Dateien an, die nicht nur unglaublich groß sind, sondern auch

Getagged mit:
Top