Tag: TheLib

VISlib 1.0

Once again I missed a Sunday to do a post. Oh well. These of you who actually read ma post should know, that, even I am posting on each Sunday, I only make an interesting post every three weeks, or

Tagged with: ,

Legacy-Code (2)

Last weak I wrote about legacy code. That topic prevails. There are two fundamental views of legacy code: Some people believe legacy code is trash and needs to be removed as fast as possible. Some other people believe legacy code

Tagged with:

Legacy-Code

Whenever you work on a software, which is not trivial or small, than you have to work with legacy code. I talk about old codes. Either one wants to re-use them or one does not. Regardless, however, you always have

Tagged with: ,

TheLib-Featurette: Strings

The maybe most important coding project of myself which has impact on my private programming as well as on my work is  TheLib. The basic idea is to collect all classes which we (two friends and myself) wrote and used

Tagged with:

One day late

Drat! I wanted to write a post each sunday. Oh well. I will try to minimize these slips and I will try to catch up as quickly as possible. The news: The TheLib project now uses a Subversion repository! After

Tagged with:

TheLib (Update)

The development of TheLib continues. One thing I learned during my work as developer of scientific software is that large software projects at universities are extreamly difficult to manage. Mainly because the people involved are “scientists” and no “developers”. The

Tagged with:

Not much time left …

The year 2012 is almost gone. Let’s use this opportunity to reflect on what’s happend. Ok, ok. No one likes annual reviews (me neither), but still… Early this year I defended my dissertation, and finished my Ph.D. With this, I

Tagged with: ,

TheLib

The TheLib Project was started 22. March. It is the follow-up project of the VISlib, an openly available library of Totally Helpful Extensions for C++ and C# with focus on scientific visualization. TheLib is created in a cooperation betweent the

Tagged with: ,
Top

Schlagwort: TheLib

VISlib 1.0

Und wieder bin ich knapp zu spät und hab meinen Sonntag verpasst. Naja. Diejenigen die tatsächlich meine Posts lesen dürften wissen, dass ich zwar jeden Sonntag poste, aber nur vielleicht jeden dritten Sonntag etwas interessantes. Oder so. Neues gibt es

Getagged mit: ,

Legacy-Code (2)

Letzte Woche hab ich schon über Legacy-Code geschrieben. Das Thema ist beständig. Eigentlich gibt es zwei Sichtweise auf Legacy-Code: Die Einen halten Legacy-Code für einen Schrotthaufen den man unbedingt los werden muss. Die Anderen halten Legacy-Code für eine Goldgrube die

Getagged mit:

Legacy-Code

Immer wenn man an einer Software arbeitet die nicht trivial oder klein ist, dann arbeitet man unweigerlich auch mit Legacy-Code. Damit meine ich Quelltexte die alt sind. Entweder will man sie ersetzen oder auch nicht, aber sie mit dem neu

Getagged mit: ,

TheLib-Featurette: Strings

Mein vielleicht wichtigstes Programmierprojekt für meine privaten Projekte und für meine Arbeit ist TheLib. Die Idee ist einfach in dieser Lib Klassen zu sammeln die wir (zwei Freunde und ich) geschreiben haben und immer und immer wieder in unterschiedlichen Projekten

Getagged mit:

Ein Tag zu spät

Mist! Ich wollte doch jeden Sonntag posten. Naja, ich versuche diese Ausrutscher minimal zu halten und möglichst immer gleich nach zu holen. Eine Neuigkeit: Das TheLib-Projekt benutzt nun ein Subversion-Repository! Nachdem Mercurial sich absolut nicht bewährt hat war unsere Experimentierfreude

Getagged mit:

TheLib (Update)

Die Arbeit an der TheLib geht weiter. Eins habe ich in meiner bisherigen Arbeit als Entwickler von Forschungssoftware gelernt: große Softwareprojekte an Universitäten sind extrem schwierig durchzuführen. Hauptsächlich weil alle beteiligen Personen „Forscher“ sind und keine „Entwickler“. Es fehlt die

Getagged mit:

Es ist nicht mehr viel Zeit …

Das Jahr 2012 ist fast vorüber. Ich möchte die Gelegenheit nutzen um ein bisschen zu rekapitulieren. Ok, ok. Jahresrückblicke mag niemand (ich auch nicht), aber trotzdem. Anfang des Jahres hab ich meine Dissertation verteidigt. Damit ging auch meine Arbeit am

Getagged mit: ,

TheLib

Das TheLib Projekt wurde am 22.3. gestartet. Es handelt sich dabei um den Nachfolger der VISlib, eine offene Bibliothek von Totally Helpful Extensions für C++ und C# mit dem Fokus auf wissenschaftliche Visualisierung. Die TheLib entsteht als Kooperation zwischen dem

Getagged mit: ,
Top