Category: Science

We won the IEEE SciVis Contest 2016

Each year at the renowned international conference for visualization, the IEEE VIS, the so called SciVis Contest takes place. This year, we, the staff of the Computer Graphics and Visualisation Group of the TU Dresden, together with colleagues from the

Tutorial at IEEE VIS 2015 in Chicago

I have written about this before, but here is the official news reblogged from the SFB 716 website. GPU-based interactive Visualization of Large Particle Data At the end of October, the largest conference on scientific visualization – the IEEE VIS

Tagged with: ,

Afterword to IEEE VIS 2015

The IEEE VIS 2015 reached its end. And she was great once again. Good papers, good ideas, and good people to meet. It really was worth it. My own tutorial was a big success, too. We had a much bigger

MegaMol Release v1.1

It is time! The new release of MegaMol is available on its project website: megamol.org Release 1.1 There will be more info on the IEEE VIS conference in Chicago on next Sunday.

Tagged with:

Reblog: Powershell – Head and Tail

Most new data sets for my scientific visualization find their way to my desk in form of arbitrarily structures text files. This is not really a problem. The first sensible step is converting them into a fast binary format for

Tagged with: , ,

Howto: Compiling an alternative MegaMol on Linux

We updated MegaMol to use cmake to build on Linux OS. This greatly improved the build process on Linux. But this also makes some more uncommon scenarios difficult to realize. For example, cmake usually automatically detects required dependencies. But, in

Tagged with:

VII. Annual Meeting of the Boltzmann Zuse Society

This Monday and Thursday the VII. Annual Meeting of the Boltzmann-Zuse-Society for Computational Molecular Engineering takes place in Kaiserslautern, organized by Martin Horsch. Basically it is a meeting for the groups from Stuttgart (VISUS, HLRS), Paderborn, Kaiserslautern and Dresden, to talk

Tagged with:

What was going on at the EuroVis?

It is now two weeks since Joachim Staib and myself attended the EuroVis 2015 in Cagliari, Italy. I thought it is about time I write about what we did there. Actually, it was a very successful conference for our computer

Preparations for EuroVIS 2015

It’s now only one week left before I go to the EuroVIS 2015. I am going to give two presentations, one on an invited CGF paper on multi-dimensional trajectory visualization and one at the co-located workshop EnvirVIS 2015 about Urban

Working towards the IEEE VIS 2015

There is much to do. The paper deadline for the IEEE VIS 2015 is in about two days. Because of that, I even worked at the weekend …

Top

Kategorie: Forschung

Wir haben den IEEE SciVis Contest 2016 gewonnen

Jedes Jahr wird im Rahmen der renommierten, internationalen Konferenz für Visualisierung, der IEEE VIS, der sogenannte „SciVis Contest“ abgehalten. Dieses Jahr haben die Mitarbeiter der Professur der Computergraphik und Visualisierung, unterstützt durch Mitarbeiter des Visualisierungsinstituts der Universität Stuttgart, den Contest

Tutorial auf der IEEE VIS 2015 in Chicago

Ich hab zwar schon vorher mal darüber geschrieben, aber hier der offizielle News-Artikel von der SFB-716-Webseite. Zur interaktiven GPU-basierte Visualisierung großer Partikeldaten Ende Oktober fand in Chicago die größte Konferenz zum Thema der wissenschaftlichen Visualisierung statt – die IEEE VIS

Getagged mit: ,

Nachwort zur IEEE VIS 2015

Die IEEE VIS 2015 ist vorbei, und sie war wieder mal toll. Gute Paper, gute Ideen und gute Leute getroffen. Es hat sich wirklich gelohnt. Mein eigenes Tutorial war auch ein voller Erfolg. Wir hatten weit mehr Publikum als gehofft

MegaMol Release v1.1

Es ist soweit! Der neue Release von MegaMol ist auf seiner Projekt-Webseite verfügbar: megamol.org Release 1.1 Weitere Infos zur IEEE VIS aus Chicago gibt es kommenden Sonntag.

Getagged mit:

Reblog: Powershell – Head and Tail

Ich als Visualisierer wissenschaftlicher Datensätze kriege diese häufig in Form von beliebig strukturierten Textdateien. An sich nicht schlimm. Der erste Schritt ist dann eben eine initiale Konvertierung in ein schnelles Binärformat für die visuelle Analyse. Doch damit stehe ich immer

Getagged mit: , ,

(English) Howto: Compiling an alternative MegaMol on Linux

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar. Der Inhalt wird unten in einer verfügbaren Sprache angezeigt. Klicken Sie auf den Link, um die aktuelle Sprache zu ändern. We updated MegaMol to use cmake to build on Linux OS.

Getagged mit:

VII. Jahrestagung der Boltzmann-Zuse-Gesellschaft

Kommenden Montag und Dienstag ist die VII. Jahrestagung der Boltzmann-Zuse-Gesellschaft für Computational Molecular Engineering, dieses Jahr turnusgemäß mal wieder in Kaiserslautern, organisiert bei Martin Horsch. Im Großen Treffen Sich die Gruppen aus Stuttgart (VISUS, HLRS), Paderborn, Kaiserslautern und Dresden um

Getagged mit:

Was gab’s eigentlich auf der EuroVis?

Es ist nun über zwei Wochen her, dass Joachim Staib und ich auf der EuroVis 2015 in Cagliari waren. Ich hab mir gedacht, es ist an der Zeit, dass ich endlich mal schreibe was wir da überhaupt gemacht haben. Tatsächlich

Vorbereitungen für die EuroVIS 2015

Nun ist es nur noch eine Woche bis zur EuroVis 2015. I werde dort zwei Vorträge halten: zum einen ein eingeladenes CGF-Paper über Visualisierung multi-dimensionaler Trajektorien und zum anderen, auf dem angeschlossenen Workshop EnvirVis 2015 eine Arbeit zu Flut-Visualisierung im

Arbeit für die IEEE VIS 2015

Viel zu tun. Die Paper-Deadline für die IEEE VIS 2015 ist in etwa zwei Tagen. Entsprechend hab ich auch das Wochenende gearbeitet. …

Top